Crafts

Coloring Easter eggs, OR:

How to repurpose broken Easter eggs because preschoolers aren’t very careful with fragile things.

I got the great idea to dye some Easter eggs for my three year-old, this morning. We did it last year. The colours were amazing and she had fun using her crayons on something other than paper. This year we weren’t so lucky.

I dissolved some Wilton colours in cool water inside plastic cups and added the boiled eggs. I had drawn on the eggs with white crayon and told her that there were “magic pictures” on them, which made her even more interested in the process. We were going for ROY G BIV, but somehow I forgot I was missing red.

But I digress.

After a few minutes, I removed the eggs, which had beautiful colours. After drying, I set my daughter, her crayons and the eggs at the table and instructed her to be very careful.

Pop went one egg, and the tears started. Then one by one, the other eggs fell. Only one of five survived.

20130327-104721.jpg
See, isn’t it pretty?

To stop the tears and not waste perfectly good hard-boiled eggs, I got a brilliant idea. I peeled the eggs, cut them in half and tossed them in the colored water. I had seen the idea of dyed deviled eggs on Pinterest, and it’s always right….right?

The eggs came out bright and cheery and I made the filling inside a zip top bag (as per the Pinterest instructions)

20130327-105013.jpg
I wasn’t a fan of this method. Though it was clean, mixing was uneven and any air in the bag made it frustrating.

Filling the eggs were a breeze, thanks to the bag, and they looked pretty decent, if I do say so myself.

I presented the rescued eggs to my daughter, hoping that she would appreciate my efforts, but I forgot that preschoolers are about as appreciative as teenagers. Though she thought they were pretty, she declared them “yucky” and wouldn’t try any. Her loss.

20130327-105359.jpg
They’re full of food coloring, but they’re also pretty tasty!

While my daughter was destroying her eggs, I was experimenting with a different dying method. Inspired by Pinterest (do you see a trend here?) I wrapped up several eggs in elastic bands of varying widths and put them in the same dye. I did one egg in green, a second in blue and purple, and the last one in green, blue and orange. Between each colour I either rewrapped the elastics, or removed a few and added a few.

20130327-105806.jpg
For an experiment, I’d say it turned out pretty great!

So for you parents who are coloring eggs with your little ones this Easter, fear not for the casualties! There is hope for them if you like deviled eggs!

Happy Easter and have fun with colours!

20130327-111618.jpg

Leave a Reply

