Parenting

Three Cheers for Graco

It’s no surprise that there have been a lot of stories floating around the Internet lately with anecdotes of bad customer service (or frivolous lawsuits). I wanted to take a moment to share a great story from a great brand from personal experience.

Last week, my husband and I decided that W had officially outgrown his bassinet. He was waking himself up at night by hitting the sides with his hands. He also had barely a few inches at his head and feet left for him to fit. And he’s only 3 months old!

When we came back from a short weekend away on Sunday, out went the bassinet and in came the Pack n’ Play. I’m not ready to put him in his room just yet, so we needed a handy alternative.

The Pack n’ Play we have was a gift before A was born. We used it on vacation and the transition from A co-sleeping and into her own room. Needless to say, it has been well-loved. So, when we lay W down, I noticed that the mattress was sagging and was a) probably not very safe for an infant and b) probably very uncomfortable.

Monday night I sent an email to Graco Canada’s customer service address. Having communicated using this method before, I knew there were real people on the other end. Sure enough, Tuesday morning there was an email from Esmeralda, asking for more information. My intention was to fix the problem or be told to replace my old product.

I sent off the details requested and 30 mins later I got a response. While my warranty was up (It’s 1 year from date of purchase and it was nearly 3 years ago for us), she was going to make an exception! In 7-10 days from the confirmation email, I should expect a replacement mattress with no cost to me.

But wait, it gets better.

The mattress arrived today, only two days after my email conversation from Graco. It is even in the same fabric style as the old one, which is discontinued in stores. I am a very happy and satisfied customer.

It’s customer service like this that makes people loyal to a brand and builds a positive reputation.

I wish there were more good news stories like this out there. We should all make a point to spread the word for positive experiences just as much as the negative ones.

Leave a Reply

