Parenting

Spilling the Beans

It’s been a long while since I’ve posted, and I have good reasons! The family went on vacation at the end of July and when I got back to work, it was just a slew of one hectic thing after another. Then, A’s daycare was on vacation for two weeks, so my mother (very kindly) stayed with us for that time to watch her and also provide other amazing things like cooking, laundry and cleaning of my house (I’m spoiled) .

Now that all the fires have been smothered and things are getting back to normal, I can finally announce that in March of 2012, we will become a family of 4!

We are so very excited to add to our family. A is going to be such a great big sister! She loves her baby cousin, who is now 3 months old, and loves to rock, shush and swaddle her baby dolls. I’m hoping she continues to be just as loving and helpful once the baby arrives.

Fortunately, I didn’t suffer from morning sickness, just as I did with A. However, there were many a morning where ginger beer and crackers got me through some spells. While I was on vacation the day time nausea also hit, so I spent many nap times taking a nap with A.

I had an ultrasound on recommendation from my family doctor when I was there for my annual physical because I won’t see my OB for my first visit until Sept 1st when I’ll be 13.5 weeks. While the prep was terrible (a full bladder is so uncomfortable for a pregnant woman), seeing my little bumblebee was incredible. It feels real.

Now that I am officially in the 2nd trimester, I am so glad that I can finally say something and share the great news. My clothes are getting tight fast and I don’t think I can hide it much longer. I’m looking forward to getting seats on the subway, though, so having my waistline expand sooner isn’t such a bad thing.

One thought on “Spilling the Beans

Leave a Reply

