Parenting

Why work made me gain 15lbs

I stepped on my bathroom scale this evening after months of avoiding it. I wasn’t concerned about the number, just that it might be lying to me. It likes to mess with me that way.

I gained 37 pounds during my pregnancy with A which brought me up to 167 pounds; the heaviest I have ever been in my life. I walked out of the hospital at least 20lbs lighter and by Christmas the baby weight was all but gone. Depending how you look at it, the weight loss unfortunately didn’t stop there. Compounded stress made me very ill with Colitis, which I’ve had since 2006, and the symptoms brought me down another 10lbs.

By the spring, I was weighing what I did in High School. For anyone who knew me then, this was not a good thing. I was 105lbs and 5’6″ tall. In High School I was teased for being skinny and flat-chested. If it weren’t for brestfeeding, I would have felt the same way I did all those years ago.

Then I went back to work in August 2010. This started a trend of eating bigger meals that weren’t as healthy as they could be and less activity. It means 8 hours of mostly sitting on my butt accompanied by subway trips where I usually get to sit. I’m not talking daily walks with A like I used to or getting outside like I was.

The result? 10 months later I am about 15 pounds heavier. Now, I’m not hating on the gain, because I am more than happy to have some curves back, but if this keeps up, I’ll get to be my heaviest weight in two more years; and that’s without pregnancy!

So, I think now is the time to step up my game and get more active. I would love to tone up and eat healthier choices. Looks like this summer I will be making lunch trips to St. Lawrence market instead of the corner McDonald’s. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

